NaNoWriMo? Hell, why not?

It is 53 minutes before the official start of NaNoWriMo for me – the National Novel Writing Month – where, across the world, hundreds of thousands of writers challenge themselves to write a 50,000 word novel in under 30 days.  And up until 53 minutes before the start of it I wasn’t interested in participating.  Now, with no preparation, I am going to do it.

For me this isn’t a difficult challenge due to my writing speed – 1,666 words per day is low on my scale.  The difficultly would be making it a final draft in that time – with no preparatory material.

So that is what I am doing – a “Papa Hemingway” realist challenge no less – I am going to write 50,000 words of a fictional story of an Iraqi War Vet – the events will be based on my experiences and my friends’ experiences but nothing is planned out.  I’m going to test my ability to write “Iceberg Theory” and my ability to follow Hemingway’s famous axiom: “All good writers are the best liars.”

NaNoWriMo, let us do this.

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo? Hell, why not?

  1. Good luck with your Nanowrimo challenge! Perhaps the spontaneity of joining at the last minute will bring plenty of inspiration to get you on your way.

    • I figure if I am going to write something out of my self-described genre what better way to do it than spontaneously and with the added challenge of emulating one of my favorite authors?

      • Personally, I’ve always found I write better when I haven’t planned it, rather than when I try. And it’s always easier to leave your comfort zone jumping rather than tip-toeing.

        • I agree – ‘Firedancer’ was distinctly unplanned but had the virtue of being set inside a planned world I had already created. The world was a very broad stroke, however, and so ‘Firedancer’ allowed me to fill in the blanks of the world for my more planned book by making it up as I went along.

Like it? Hate it? Tell me your thoughts!

