So Close to Completion

Setting goals is really helping with the writing.  Also, breaking the book up into sections is very useful as well.  I have a general outline for the entire work and then a smaller outline for each section.  Instead of worrying about writing the entire novel I worry about writing the section.  I have found that this helps to eliminate the block quite a bit and by doing it in a serial form I have started to see sub plots and new characters develop as I go.  This is what turned “Firedancer” into an ensemble piece from a generic Young Adult fantasy.

One thought on “So Close to Completion

  1. Agreed! Setting goals really help me too. For me, if you want to get your work published, setting goals gets you used to the type of deadlines agents and authors set. Great blog by the way! 🙂

Like it? Hate it? Tell me your thoughts!

